To the Lighthouse & Clarissa Dalloway Book Prize Overview


175px-ToTheLighthouseMrs__Dalloway_coverLoveliness and stillness clasped hands in the bedroom, and among the shrouded jugs and sheeted chairs even the prying of the wind, and the soft nose of the clammy sea airs, rubbing, snuffling, iterating, and reiterating their questions—“Will you fade? Will you perish?”—scarcely disturbed the peace, the indifference, the air of pure integrity, as if the question they asked scarcely needed that they should answer: we remain.
–Virginia Woolf, To the Lighthouse
You were given a sharp, acute, uncomfortable grain; yet in absence, in the most unlikely places, it would flower out, open, shed its scent, let you touch, taste, look about you, get the whole feel of it and understanding, after years of lying lost.
–Virginia Woolf, Mrs. Dalloway

Deadline:  April 1

Submit Online

*Or download dual application form to submit and pay via post.

AROHO’s To the Lighthouse Poetry and Clarissa Dalloway “everything but poetry” Book Prizes are awarded annually to one woman’s excellent unpublished collection of poetry (48 to 96 pages) and prose (15,000 to 75,000 words), respectively. We encourage and enjoy a diverse range of topics and styles for both competitions. For the Clarissa Dalloway Book Prize, accepted genres include but are not limited to memoir, biography, novel or novella, young adult literature, and graphic novels. Winners receive $1000 and publication of their submitted collection by Red Hen Press. In addition, AROHO will provide promotional efforts and coverage of some related travel expenses, constituting an additional $1000 in value.

Judged by esteemed writers and poets such as Alice Quinn, Tracy K. Smith, Eloise Klein Healy, C.D. Wright, and Kate Gale, whose reputations accompany the winning publication into the marketplace, these awards proliferate the number of prized women poets and writers seeing their words in print.

View the To the Lighthouse & Clarissa Dalloway Showcase to see past winners, honored judges, and winning work.

Questions?  Find the answers on our FAQ page.


AROHO’s mission depends on women’s work and words reaching the marketplace. Our thanks to Red Hen Press, AROHO’s benevolent conduit to publication for the diverse voices of women we strive to champion, and Vicki Giblin, the To the Lighthouse Poetry Publication Prize’s benefactor.